Our History

Back in the winter of 2010, a new HBA club was born. Richmond parent Daniela Accary was unable to find a local team for her sons to play in, so she took it upon herself to form a team comprised of her two sons and other Richmond kids keen to play basketball.

She entered the team into the Hawthorn Basketball Association under the name of Richmond Riots. Word slowly spread  about the Riots around 3121, and from those humble beginnings  and with the hard work and dedication of enthusiastic parents on the committee, it has seen the club grow to 37 teams by this current season.

The original Riots team, now named Richmond Riots Bendigo, started  their journey in the under 12 boys competition. Reflecting on their progress, team manager Trevor Field-Pimm said, "When the boys first  started, they had never played any competitive basketball before. They have progressed from playing in the lowest division in their first few seasons to becoming a regular division one team and along the way, making five grand final appearances and winning a premiership”. 

“The formation of the Riots has been fantastic as it has given local boys and girls the  opportunity to play a great sport with their friends and schoolmates each Saturday throughout the year”.

The 2017 winter season is the last season that Richmond Riots Bendigo were eligible for the Saturday junior competition, and they signed off on 2nd September 2017. 

However, they aren’t done yet as they continue their basketball journey in the HBA’s Thursday night men’s competition.

In 2012 the Richmond Basketball Club was officially formed. The club operates as a not for profit, incorporated association.

The objective of the Richmond Basketball Club is:

  1. To provide an opportunity for the youth of our area to participate  in basketball and enhance their health and well being through organized  sport
  2. To provide for the health, welfare and well being of players, supporters and spectators

Above team photo:

REAR: Trevor Field-Pimm (Team Manager), Tex Mangan-Georgiou, Dexter Ryan, Michael Accary (Foundation Riots Team member)

FRONT: Daniela Accary (Club Founder and 1st Club President), Benjamin  Field-Pimm (Foundation Riots Team member), Daniel Accary (Foundation  Riots Team member), Alexander Lake (Foundation Riots Team member),  Michael Willoughby

ABSENT: Piers McDermott, Leo Hanley